Miracles do happen…

Miracles do happen

I watched a video earlier today where a charismatic minister, Rick Joyner, was making a claim that God has been healing amputees in his services. This absurd and unsubstantiated claim brought to mind a scripture in Matthew chapter 11 where John the Baptist asks the disciples of Jesus if he is the Messiah that the Jews have been waiting for. In reply, Jesus says the following:

4 Jesus replied, “Go back and report to John what you hear and see: 5 The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy[b] are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is proclaimed to the poor.6 Blessed is anyone who does not stumble on account of me.”

When I read about the blind receiving sight, I think of the recent advancements in ocular implants that have allowed blind people to have some of their sight restored.

When I read about the lame walking, I think of the prosthetic limbs that are available to amputees and those born without limbs which have allowed thousands of people to walk again or for the first time.

When I read about those who have leprosy being cleansed, I think of the modern medicine that has cured millions of people afflicted with this disease.

When I read about the deaf hearing, I think of the deaf infant who was able to hear their mother for the first time due to cochlear implants.

When I read about the dead being raised, I picture an E.R. doctor shocking someone back to life after their heart had stopped beating.

When I read of the good news being proclaimed to the poor, I think of all the secular charities that send doctors and medicine to those who cannot afford it around the world.

If humankind has ever had a messiah, it was not a man wandering the Middle East 2,000 years ago. Rather, it is science and medicine that has ‘saved’ us; they will one day be the driving force that will exempt our species from the inevitable fate which has led to the extinction of all other life forms that have once dominated this planet, and allow us to reach for the stars themselves.

-Timothy Havener

Leave a Reply

